Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: HowTO: Comprehensive Guide to Customising GDM and XSplash

Beans

HowTO: Comprehensive Guide to Customising GDM and XSplash

Comprehensive Guide to Customising
    GDM and XSplash

Preface
    This guide is my statement to those people who think that the new GDM login screen is un-customisable.

At the beginning of this month, I started playing around with a Netbook I bought back in August. Installed Karmic UNR, and started playing about with it.

One thing I was looking for in the first place was a consistency across the UI. From Splash Screen, to Login Screen, to Desktop.
    Once that was sorted, and I picked up a thing or two about how GDM actually functions now, I then had the mad idea of turning GDM into a minimal desktop for the most basic functions I use everyday - XChat, Empathy and Browsing - and if I need to get to anything else - just login and I have the usual full control to the system and applications again.

Before you run anything. I regard all material in this guide to be reasonably safe in terms of security. If you do find a hole or flaw, please contact me with an appropriate fix, if possible.

Changing XSplash Background
    Unfortunately, xsplash has the location of where the background it uses hard coded into the application. So you cannot alter this via changing a setting in a config file.

Fortunately for us though, we use a Debian system, and such systems are capable of a certain administrative feature called "diverting".
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-divert --local --rename --add /usr/share/images/xsplash/bg_2560x1600.jpg
    This renames the file 'bg_2560x1600.jpg' to 'bg_2560x1600.jpg.distrib', and sets the package manager config in such a way that if an update of xsplash were to come through, it will save the file as the diverted name (so the locally created file will not be overwritten).

So that sorted out, just copy the image you want to that location:
    Code: